A CODED LOVE POEM

The Speech he would have had delivered if he had won the Creative Artist of the Year award at The Future Awards 2010:

A Mughal Prince!

Onyeka Nwelue relaxing at a Bar in Connaught Place, New Delhi

I write this incase I win.
I left Nigeria to pursue a course in cinema few days after my university, University of Nigeria; Nsukka was shut down, because of protests and riot from the stud…ents. I was already frustrated with the Nigerian educational system, which has sent so many brilliant minds out of the country.

Today, I’ve been awarded the Creative Artist of the Year, meaning that I should have contributed ‘creatively’ in shaping the lives of young people in Nigeria. I don’t know how well this has worked, but I’m happy tonight that the years I spent building my career in a country that demoralizes people have paid off.

I will not go on to lament, anymore. I shall join my family, friends and fiends to celebrate this award. I will drink to the glory of the Future and I shall bask in its euphoria for as long as I can.

However, since awards must be dedicated to people, I will look beyond my family members who have been there for me always and dedicate this to my beautiful and wonderful girlfriend, Chizzy. Never in my life have I seen a woman who overlooks your flaws and shows you so much. She is the dream of every frustrated man living in a frustrated country, because she has brought so much hope and joy to my life and each time I look into the Future with her, I feel I’m a complete man. For showing me so much love, I say, ‘You made this happen.’

Namaste from India!
Thank you.

Onyeka Nwelue
author, The Abyssinian Boy

Onyeka, whose first novel The Abyssinian Boy was published by DADA books in 2009, is one of the invited authors who will be participating at The MAN Hong Kong International Literary Festival 2010 from 11th to 19th March 2010, alongside Moses Isegawa (who wrote Abyssinian Chronicles) and many other writers from different parts of the world. On the 14 of March, 2010, he will be on a panel with eminent South African writer, Andre Brink, Jason Lee and Justin Hill at St. John’s Cathedral in Hong Kong.

The profile above is sourced from the Festival Website: http://www.festival.org.hk from where you may source more information on The MAN Hong Kong International Literary Festival 2010

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

